More than a Number Decision

Let the world know the home is for rent with an eye catching red & white sign.

A month and a half ago I had a big decision to make; to stay at my current place or to risk it and try to find something cheaper (saving $100-200, maybe) someplace else.  I went back and forth between the two for a month prior and consulted several people on their opinion.  When making the decision, I wanted to get a feel for what others thought (mostly from those older and wiser than me in such things).  Ultimately, I knew what was right and in choosing that decision it felt right (and if you’re faith based, then you know what I mean when I say ‘it felt right or God had given me the signs).

.

I chose to stay.

.

I’m sure some would ague I should’ve risked it and moved to a cheaper place.  An extra $100-200 a month?  Why not?  That’s more money to give you breathing room and to pay off student loans!  Well, that’s what really made the decision difficult, but it was much more than just a financial decision.  I do live in a city where the cost of living is higher and finding a nice place in a safe neighborhood WITH a washer and dryer is tricky.  Having those perks (safety, W&D and closeness to work-I could almost walk!) is worth more than the $100 risk I’d take.  I may not even find another place all that cheap still!

Reducing student loan debt

Since I’m being more aggressive about my student loan payments, I’ve been tightening my budget more and more.  It’d be nice to have the extra $100 every month, but at the same time it’s not worth the risk in my eyes.  I love where I’m at and I’m ok with it being the one thing I ‘splurge’ on budget wise.  I spent three years of college and the two afterwards moving every year to a new place, its nice to finally have a place I can be settled in and not have to stress about moving.

.

There are many other decisions where money isn’t really the leading factor.  For example, living on your own and not in your parents house.  Having a car that is reliable, but missing features versus a newer car that may not be as reliable or needs work.  A job that pays less but has more benefits.  Somethings are worth more than the extra money you’d save.  Housing is one of them.

.

What are instances when you’ve made a decision not based on cost, but other factors?

Leave a Reply

