Goals Update for August

So true!!

Two weeks after not posting, I’m back for an update on my 2014 goals.  One of these days I’ll have a better posting schedule (goal idea for next year?).  Rambling aside, August was a great month AND as of today I was able to mark an entire goal off as completed.  I sold a bag of clothes this morning that Platos wouldn’t buy (“too old”) to a woman bringing the total number of things I’ve gotten rid of this year to 368.  We’ll count it done as of August for ease of recording.

 

Pay $10,000 off student loans

This month I was able to knock off $814 from principal bring the total paid for the year to  $5,945.66.  I still have a little ways to go in the next 4 months in order to meet my $10,000 mark, but with a rebate coming my way and some expected lower expenses, I know I’ll make it.

 

Beat ten video games  (8/10)

I finally beat Final Fantasy IV: The After Years after trudging through 27 end game bosses.  It was a massive pain.  Getting a 3DS earlier this month gave me motivation and I beat it after playing it as much as possible after school.  Now I get to enjoy Pokémon X.

Change jar goal -COMPLETED

I was able to completely fill it this month!  I got $247 and some change.  Most of which went into checking, but I put a good chunk into my retirement savings.

Earn extra income $1900

I’ve already met my $1500 goal, but this month was a HUGE leap.  I earned $400 in extra income bringing my total to over $1900 for the year already.  My writing and sales income has spiked and I hope this continues!

Read 100 books in a year (47/100)

I read 6 books this month, bringing the total for the year to 47.  I really need to get working on this goal.  Otherwise, like the last 5 years, I’ll be just mere books short of my 100 book goal.

Donate to 10 causes

I made one contribution to a charity plus tithes at church.  I’ve contributed to a total 6 charities this year.

Try 40 new recipes

I tried 2 new recipes in August for chocolate buttermilk cupcakes and Asparagus & Mushroom quiche.  Both turned out really well!  I’ve tried 24 new recipes this year.

Complete 20 crafts

I have ideas…but I didn’t complete ANY crafts this month.  It’s sad, but since the weather is getting cooler, I’ll probably be doing more in the coming months!

 

In terms of my other goals, they’re in progress or done!  I’m very pleased with my goals so far and it looks like I’m winding down on almost all my goals.  I do need to concentrate more on reading now…which I’ve been doing.  It just gets hard to find the time some days even though I could happily read for hours.

I'm a Black belt in the sport of extreme reading.

September is here meaning all things pumpkin are afoot, the school year is in full swing and there’ll be lots of fun things in store in the coming months!  I’m hoping we get fall weather soon AND it doesn’t get cold for a long time!  I dislike cold…

 

 

2 thoughts on “Goals Update for August

  1. Wow, you’re knocking everything out of the park! Congrats on the side income, too. It’s amazing how much change can accumulate in a jar. I’ve mostly stopped using cash so I don’t get to enjoy the thrill of taking it to a machine anymore, but I do have a bit leftover. Maybe it’s time to cash in!

Leave a Reply

