Past Money Wasted

Yu-Gi-Oh Cards Starting bid at $9.99 No reserve! Comes with four collector books.

Parttime, I sell things online through 4 different websites.  Sometimes sales are really good, sometimes sales aren’t as good.  I still average $150-200 a month and some months it’s even more than that.  However, in looking at the items I have for sale, I realize a lot are things I bought on a whim and barely used or realized after the fact were a waste of money.  I wasn’t bad with money in my youth for the most part, but once I got out of high school I engaged in less frugal practices.  Now that I’m older and wiser, I can look back and shake my head on some of the things I wasted money on.

.

Yu-gi-oh, Dragonballz & Pokémon cards

We all had at least one of the above probably.  I did really get into Yu-gi-oh and Pokémon, they got their use from me, but looking back now, they seem like a waste of money.  Unlike Magic the Gathering, which I’ve been playing for years, I only had maybe one or two friends who actually played with them and they generally just sat in a binder that I went through once a year and organized.  I’d hate to think of the money I wasted on them.

.

Ty Beanie Babies

I HATE thinking about how much my grandmother spent on these things and myself.  I don’t even want to discuss how many I have.  They’re cute and I could see still using them in the future, but not all of them.  Now they’re worth next to nothing and have been sitting in a container in my parents house for around 5 years.

.

Video Games I didn’t really want

I love video games and still play regularly, but I went through a weird spell 4 years ago where I bought a lot of video games that I thought I wanted to play, but realized I had no interest in.  I’ve sold off a lot of these unwanted games and now only have the ones I really want and enjoy.  Luckily with most video games, I’ve been able to flip them and sell them at a profit compared to what I bought them at.  Still, if I hadn’t bought them in the first place, I’d have that much more money(?)

.

Clothes that I never wore

I wasn’t super guilty of this, but there have been a few clothing items I’ve gotten rid of over the years without ever wearing or only wearing once.  Now that I’m older and wiser, I only buy things I know I’ll wear and are styles that look good on me.

.

Eating out…for no reason

I’m still guilty of this…I like going out to eat with friends which isn’t bad, but what is are the times I feel lazy and would rather pay $6 for one meal instead of buying the ingredients to buy the things to make it.  I have no issue eating out when it means getting together with a friend or family, but just by myself seems a bit silly…unless I have a coupon.

.

What are things you regret spending money on now that you’re older and wiser?

2 thoughts on “Past Money Wasted

Leave a Reply

