December is a Chaotic Month for Budgeting

Pretty Blossoms Covered with Snow

Happy snow rain day.  There was a forecast for a ton of snow and ice last night, so school was closed.  We ended up just getting rain instead, but it was wonderful to have an unexpected day off.  Though, I did keep thinking it felt odd to be off today since the last time I had a day off during the week was Thanksgiving break (ok, so it wasn’t that long ago).

.

 

I got my heat/gas bill last Saturday and my heart dropped.  $51.  Ouch.  It hasn’t been that high since last February ($60) and I’d gotten used to the lower $20 payments every month.  It’s the one thing I dread about the winter months-it gets so much more expensive when it comes to my electric and gas bills.  Usually electric is around $25 a month and gas is a little less.  At least since its cold, I’ll be staying in more so I can freelance to make up for that right?

.

December is, itself, the most expensive time a year for many peoples budgets.  There’s Christmas, holidays, traveling, bill increases etc.  I am anticipating this to be a big spending month and I did increase my budget on a few things such as groceries and gifts.  I do still need to get a few small gifts and baking supplies to bake, but after that I should be set to go.  The good news is I’ve been slowly putting more towards my student loans since I got my tax refund and I’m getting a deposit back on my electric (not sure on water yet, but $190 extra would be awesome!)  It’s going to be a month of extra spending, but next month it’ll balance out and things can go back to normal (heat is still going to be up though).

.

I put this site on my favorites because it has so many money saving links.

It’s only the 10th of December and I’ve already paid $470 on the principal of my student loan this month.  I cringe when I see how much money goes towards the interest.  While it means I make more payments throughout the month to cut down on it being all at once, it hurts to see that after not making a payment in a week, I owe almost $20 in interest.  I’m working on earning some extra money over the holidays and plan on;

  • Selling more unwanted video games
  • Selling some old books to the used bookstore I go to (they give cash!)
  • Freelance work
  • Babysitting

Hopefully it means I can have some extra cash to put towards my debt.  I can’t wait to be debt free so I can start putting that money towards retirement and truly living.  I can almost taste my trip to London….in five years.

4 thoughts on “December is a Chaotic Month for Budgeting

    • Thanks! That’s awesome you’re going this coming Fall and for virtually free! I keep hearing about Credit Card rewards (don’t have one myself) and all the great rewards you can get from some.

Leave a Reply

