Do-it-yourself jar opener

Jars can be a pain to open sometimes.  Luckily when I was growing up, my mom had a plastic jar opener that made opening jars not a struggle.  I haven’t looked for one myself, but its something I’ve always thought would be nice to have.

.image

The other day I found an old shelf liner while I was trying to open a stubborn jar and thought it might be worth a shot.

image

I put it on top of the jar and presto-it came off with ease.  It was really easy to cut it into a circle using a large jar as a reference.

image

I cut it until it was just right and I still have a bit of shelf liner to make more in the future if need me.  It’s one of those great life hacks you just discover by chance!

image

************************

The Land before time photo: The Land Before Time TheLandBeforeTime.jpg

On an unrelated note, I’ve completed one of my 2013 goals in its entirety!  As of today I have officially watched 70 new movies that I haven’t seen before.  The lucky #70 was The Land Before Time: Time of the Great Flyers.  I’ve been a fan of the series for a long time and with only one more movie to see before I’ve seen them all, a sense of bittersweet comes.  There hasn’t been a new movie in 6 years and the office as closed leaving the series in uncertainity.  I hope they release even one more new one if only to wrap things up and allow fans to see our heroes become adults!

.

You can see the complete list of movies I’ve seen here.  I plan on continuing to watch movies of course-but I’ve met a goal!

Leave a Reply

